Mother’s Day

This is probably one of the toughest days of the year for me, as I am sure it is for many women out there. This day brings heartache, sorrow and also hope.  My heart goes out to the all the women who desperately want to me a mom. You are not a alone, and it is your right to feel that ache.  It is okay to hate Mother’s day. Other people don’t understand, but I do.

I am beyond blessed to be a step-parent. Seriously, one of the best things to happen in my life. Mother’s day is also a challenge because of being a step-parent, you don’t always get the recognition as a step-parent. Being a mom isn’t about recognition, I know that. But as a step-parent, you play a critical role in a child/children’s lives, you help shape who they become. So, if you know a step-parent- give them an extra special happy Mother’s day. They deserve it. My witty, step-daughter has declared that the weekend after Mother’s day is Step-Mother’s day. She is so sweet and like I said before. I am blessed to be a part of her life.

This day also brings me heartache and sorrow. I wistfully think of my babies that didn’t make it. How different this day would be for me.  My heart aches and yearns to be a mom.  I give myself permission to stay off Facebook today and not wish all the moms out there Happy Mother’s day.  It is okay.  And seriously, are they going to notice?!?!

I look forward to the day when Mother’s day changes for me. When I look forward to the day, instead of dread it. When I don’t feel selfish because I want to do ANYTHING anti-Mother’s day.  We usually go golfing and I try to get a nap in.  With the stimming medications, I need to take it easy.  I am going to try to spend some time outside enjoying the beautiful weather.

But, I wanted to take time this morning to wish all you who share my Dream of Mom to be a special Mother’s Day. I pray that you find peace in today and know that you are not alone. Sending you a big hug and I pray that all of us are celebrating Mother’s day next year.

Until next time… be kind to one another.

XO,

Natalie

Leave a Reply

